Skip to content
July 22, 2008 / chrisisgross

Dale Chihuly, Frida Kahlo and Kids

At the behest of my good buddy Jake I got out the camera and uploaded photo’s to the old iBook and flickr and I realized that I misunderstood the whole not a pro on flickr thing. I will upgrade at some point as the older photos will disappear(until I upgrade), but I think I will go back to using it more since I need some storage space on the computer.

The lede that I am burying here is that over the weekend besides the Zinefest I also went to two exhibits at the DeYoung Museum and the SFMOMA.

The first exhibit was one that I knew nothing about, but Julie’s best friend Jen was in town from London and she was a big fan of his work. I put the shots that I took(my memory card was almost empty) up on flickr, but here are two of my favorites.

His work was really breathtaking. The shear size and scope of the pieces was not lost on me. I overheard one of the tour leader’s saying to her tour that one of the pieces had 1,000 seperate pieces taht are individually wrapped and shipped for the installation. Some of the pieces were 30-40 feet long composed of hand blown glass. It was surreal and inspiring.

The other show was the Frida Kahlo exhibit at the SFMOMA. I love her work and getting a chance to see most of her major works in one show was well worth the tickets. The only downside is that I was there with my wonderfully distracted second cousins ages 6, 9, and 11 who were more interested in snacks, Starbucks,mayhem and tag than on brilliant art. So I think that I will be going back sometime before it goes away in September.

Leave a Reply

