Skip to content
July 21, 2008 / chrisisgross

My Trip to the SF Zinefest

As I previously mentioned the SF Zinefest was this last weekend and I am really glad that I went.

First, I was able to finally find a small place in my heart for the Sunset. The area around Irving between 6th-15th was really charming. That being said it is still really way too cold for human existence. If the streets weren’t perfectly straight or at least there was some wind breaks(like a tree) than maybe it might be tolerable. Instead the wind just whips straight from the Arctic Circle right over the Atlantic and straight through the Sunset.

Also the fest itself was great. I am definitely out of touch when it comes to the zine world. Most of it was short personal comics. The work was great and really challenging, but part of me was pining for the days of photocopied fan zines.

That’s when I was saved by V. Vale.

The man was the sole creator of Search and Destroy, an awesome old Bay Area punk fanzine, he now runs an imprint called Re/Search. His zine partially financed by Lawrence Ferlinghetti was a valuable document that cataloged the area’s punk scene. Names like Crime, The Dead Kennedys, The Avengers, The Dils and more were able to be known outside of the scene due to his work. Talking to V was pretty awesome and really intense.

We had a short conversation about one of his heroes J.G. Ballard. We talked about the dichotomy in his work between the memoirish Empire of the Sun to Crash. The guy has a ton of energy and he was selling 30 year old copies of his books for $5 which was amazing. I didn’t buy anything since I had already spent what little money I had brought with me, but just the chance to chat was great.

What I did spend part of my money on was a great book by a guy named a. perry. He also has art on flickr under employed. I was really drawn to his characters and the beautiful thin line drawings. I bought his book the sloth in me and it is something that I am going to try to get everyone to look at when they come over to the house. I didn’t get a chance to chat as his daughter was a bit hungry, but I just wanted some folks to get to take a look at his great work. He is curating a show in August and when I find the flyer I will post the date.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jake / Jul 21 2008 7:34 pm

    Take some pictures dammit! I’d like to see some of this stuff…

  2. Celeste / Jul 25 2008 4:26 pm

    That’s my hood! I love the Sunset, although it can certainly be cold. My favorite spot is the arboretum, where the arctic chill gets blocked by trees!! I wanted to go to the Zinefest. Oh well, next year!!

    I met Ferlinghetti here at work, we sold some of his stuff at auction. I meet some interesting characters through this job! Like Linda Bukowski. haha

  3. sean Brown / Mar 16 2010 11:38 pm

    hey man thats my cousin

Leave a Reply

