Skip to content
July 16, 2008 / chrisisgross

SF Zinefest

My good buddy Zac, whom I featured here earlier, is going to be participating in the SF Zinefest this weekend. He will be featuring the hardcover edition of his work Why America Works which he previously distributed as a pdf.

He says,

The SF Zine Fest is this weekend and I’m going to have a table there as Persona Non Grata Press. I’m going to have a new Broadside as well as a first ever hard copy version of Why America Works (thanks to Eli Bishop- a comic artist who will also have a bunch of books to check out at the same table)….”

I am going to go on Sunday as I have family in town on Saturday whom I will be taking to see the Frida Khalo exhibit at the SFMOMA  and I would highly recommend that you do too(to either really).

The Zinefest takes me back to the many many hours I spent in Kinko’s as  a mere youth photocopying all the crazy ideas coming out of my head and weird stuff I found in magazines into zines for my friends. It is awesome that this stuff is still going. Places like Needles and Pens on 16th and the Zinefest are helping to keep this art alive. I’ve been toying with the idea of doing a zine again though Kinko’s seems to be a lot less inviting than it used to be.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. zac / Jul 17 2008 12:07 pm

    Thanks again for the plug. I’m heading down to Kinkos tonight! Long live DIY!

Trackbacks

  1. My Trip to the SF Zinefest « A New Us

Leave a Reply

